Thank You to Those Delegates & Participants Attended SCAR Open Science Conference 2016


Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research

The Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) is an inter-disciplinary committee of the International Council for Science (ICSU). SCAR is charged with initiating, developing and coordinating high quality international scientific research in the Antarctic region, and on the role of the Antarctic region in the Earth system. The scientific business of SCAR is conducted by its Standing Scientific Groups which represent the scientific disciplines active in Antarctic research and report to SCAR.

In addition to carrying out its primary scientific role, SCAR also provides objective and independent scientific advice to the Antarctic Treaty Consultative Meetings and other organizations on issues of science and conservation affecting the management of Antarctica and the Southern Ocean. In that role, SCAR has made numerous recommendations on a variety of matters, most of which have been incorporated into Antarctic Treaty instruments. Foremost amongst these have been the advice provided for the many international agreements which provide protection for the ecology and environment of the Antarctic.

SCAR meets every two years to conduct its administrative business at the SCAR Delegates Meeting. At these meetings the members of SCAR, through their appointed Delegates, are responsible for approving SCAR finances, and formulating SCAR policy and strategy. They also elect an Executive Committee from among themselves which is responsible for the day-to-day administration of SCAR through its Secretariat at the Scott Polar Research Institute in Cambridge, England. The Executive Committee comprises the President, Past-President, four Vice-Presidents and the SCAR Executive Director. The SCAR Secretariat is staffed by the Executive Director, Executive Officer and an Administrative Assistant.

SCAR also holds, prior to the Delegates Meeting, a major Open Science Conference to draw attention to Antarctic issues, along with meetings of the Standing Scientific Groups that are designed to finalise the Science Programmes for eventual approval by the Delegates.



G Wilson (co-chair) New Zealand
I Schloss (co-chair) Argentina
J Lopez-Martinez Spain
J Baeseman UK/Norway
A A Samah Malaysia
J Simoes Brazil
M Guglierlmin Italy
C Escutia Spain
T Wilson USA
N Bertler New Zealand
J Gutt Germany
D Ligget New Zealand
M Leppe Chile
M Pompillio Italy
A Lenton Australia
K Takahashi Japan
A Terauds Australia
B Jansen van Vuuren South Africa
O Schofield USA
C Ritz France
R Downey UK/Norway
A Klepikov Russia



Noorul Ainur Mohd. Nur Ministry of Science, Technology and Innovation, Malaysia (MOSTI)
Azizan Abu Samah University of Malaya
Salleh Mohd Nor Malaysian Antarctic Research Programme (MARP)
Mohd Azhar Yahaya MOSTI
Ramzah Dambul MOSTI
Kamel Mohamad MOSTI
Mohd Yusri Mohd Yusoff MOSTI
Mohd Nasaruddin Abd Rahman Sultan Mizan Antarctic Research Foundation
Nor Azlina Ariffin MOSTI
Roshana Alma Mohd Ali MOSTI



Bryan Storey (Advisor) SCAR
Azizan Abu Samah (Chair) University of Malaya
Osman Muda State Government of Terengganu
Noor Azlan Ghazali Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia
Mohd Fauzi Ramlan Universiti Putra Malaysia
Omar Osman Universiti Sains Malaysia
Nor Aieni Mokhtar Universiti Malaysia Terengganu
Mazlan Hashim Universiti Teknologi Malaysia
Clemente Michael Wong Vui Ling Universiti Malaysia Sabah
Chu Wan Loy International Medical University
Mohd Nasaruddin Abd Rahman Sultan Mizan Antarctic Research Foundation
Nor Azlina Ariffin MOSTI
Roshana Alma Mohd Ali MOSTI
Alice Suriati Mazlan MOSTI
Nordin Ahmad National Space Agency
Azlikamil Napiah Malaysian Remote Sensing Agency
Che Gayah Ismail Meteorological Department